Log in


Log in
Red River Valley                                                                Winter 2016
A publication of the Southwestern Region of the American Music Therapy Association                                                                                             

Assembly of Delegates Report
Edward P. Kahler, Ph.D., MT-BC

The AMTA Assembly of Delegates met at national conference.  The Assembly approved the following appointees to the Judicial Review Board: Cheryl Benze and Hakeem Leonard.  Three Ethics Board appointment recommendations were also approved for Debbie Dacus, Kevin Hahn, and Jennifer Sokira.

The Assembly passed a motion requesting the Board of Directors to appoint a task force to investigate faculty education requirements listed in the Standards of Education and Clinical Training.  The Assembly also passed a motion charging the Speaker of the Assembly to appoint a task force composed of delegates representing each region to review Article VII Assembly of Delegates of the AMTA Bylaws. Upon review of Article VII, the task force is to make recommendations regarding the relationship between the Board of Directors and Assembly, as well as the roles and responsibilities of the Assembly.  Finally, the Assembly accepted the Board of Directors’ recommendation not to increase membership dues for 2018.

Our region currently has 6 assembly delegates.  This is determined by the speaker based on the size of each region.  Per the regional bylaws, the President and President-Elect serve on the assembly.  The other four delegates are elected.  They include:  Debra Dacus, MA, MT-BC, Della Molloy Daugherty, PhD, MT-BC, Carolyn Dobson, MT-BC, and Ed Kahler, PhD, MT-BC.  We also have 6 alternates standing by to assist the delegates.  If a delegate cannot attend conference, an alternate will step in so that we maintain our six seats and six votes.  Please feel free to contact any of us with your questions. 

© Copyright 2015-2016 Southwestern Region of the American Music Therapy Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software