Log in


Log in
Red River Valley                                                  Summer 2016
A publication of the Southwestern Region of the American Music Therapy Association                                                                                             


MAY 20, 2016
Antoinette Neff, MT-BC

The SWAMTA Board of Directors (BODs) met on March 31st, 2016 during the SWAMTA Regional Conference. In attendance were: President, Antoinette Neff; Past-President, Sophia Lee; President-Elect, Christine Neugebauer; Vice President, Amy Smith; Vice President-Elect, Diane Powell; Secretary, Esther Craven; Assembly of Delegates Representative, Debbie Dacus; SWAMTAS President, Victoria Glaser; Treasurer, Amy Rogers; Parliamentarian, Jessica Jarvis; Government Relations Representative, Jennifer Townsend for Della Molloy Daugherty; Continuing Education, Jennifer Townsend; RRV Co-Editors; Jessica Leza and Karen Sholander; SAAB Representative, Michelle Kennemer; Webmaster, Christina Stock; and Publicity, Veronica Butler. The following are highlights from the meetings.

New Committee Appointments

Several positions have become vacant to further professional careers or for personal matters, such as beginning a new family. There are many opportunities to be of service to the Region. Please contact if you’d like to help! New appointees will be presented to be confirmed by the SWAMTA Board of Directors as soon as possible before or at the Summer Board Meeting in Plano, TX on August 20, 2016. The available positions are for the ad hoc Committee Chair of the Historical Committee as well as Committee Representatives to the AMTA positions including: Association Internship Approval, Diversity, Government Relations, Membership, and Workforce Development and Retention. Amy Smith will serve as the Association Internship Approval Representative and Vice President until August 20th. Vice President-Elect, Diane Powell, will serve the remainder of the Vice President term beginning August 21st. Thank you to all who have served the Region in these capacities. We wish you all in your future endeavors!


    Regional Conference was held March 31- April 2, 2016 at the Westin Austin at the Domain in Austin, TX. The theme was “South by Music Therapy”. Kamica King, MT-BC performed during social hour just prior to the opening session.  The AMTA President, Jennifer Geiger, delivered the Keynote Address during the Opening Session, inviting Kimberly Sena Moore to speak about advocacy during a portion of the Address. Sara Hickman, an award winning singer-songwriter, was the featured performer during the opening session. Ms. Hickman was awarded a “Friend of Music Therapy” Award on behalf of the Region and a “Music Therapy Advocacy Award” on behalf of the Texas State Task Force. The evening also included presentation the Region’s prestigious Harmony Awards honoring Ed Kahler, for Education; Jennifer Townsend for Service; and, Carolyn Dobson and Michael Richardson for Clinical Practice. Nancy Hadsell was the 2016 recipient of the Mary Toombs Rudenberg Lifetime Leadership Award for decades of leadership and service to the Region and to the music therapy profession as exemplified by the life and spirit of Mary Toombs Rudenberg. The Eighth Annual Passages Conference, a mini-conference created especially for students and entry-level professionals, was a wonderful opportunity to develop presentation skills. Six CMTE courses, including a free ethics course taught by Christine Neugebauer, and 33 concurrent sessions were offered. Mary Altom coordinated a networking luncheon. The closing session consisted of a breakfast, award ceremonies, and continuation of the General Business meeting which all Officer and Committee reports were presented, ten Bylaw revisions were adopted; and, three alternates Kamica King, Jennifer Townsend and Kathleen Brown were confirmed by vote in a special election. The 2016 conference made a profit and the 2017 conference is anticipated to also do well. Thank you, again, to all who helped to prepare for this fabulous conference!

    The next Regional Conference will be held in Fort Worth, TX in the Spring of 2017. Mary Altom will be the 2017 Conference Local Committee Chair.

    © Copyright 2015-2016 Southwestern Region of the American Music Therapy Association

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software